Who we Are

The voice of opera in Canada

Board of Directors

Michael Hidetoshi Mori Chair

Michael Hidetoshi Mori is a “shot of adrenaline to opera”. Michael is a leading international voice in socially and artistically progressive opera and music theatre. An award-winning Canadian/American stage director, and the General Director of Tapestry Opera in Toronto, he is frequently sought as a director, dramaturge, producer and speaker. Bringing new works from concept to full realization is his specialty, having commissioned and developed more than ten new operas over the past five years. Michael is the Chair of Opera.ca, Canada’s association of professional opera companies, and was recently one of two delegates invited to represent Canada at the 2018 World Opera Forum in Madrid, where he presented on diversity in opera. Michael’s leadership at Tapestry Opera has led…

Read More

Ian Rye Vice Chair

With Pacific Opera, Ian has stewarded the creation of over 50 original opera productions, new opera commissions, cultivated an enhancement of artistic scope, and orchestrated a co-production model that has positioned Victoria-made productions on opera stages across Canada and the U.S. He has stewarded youth and education programs, community collaborations, and was key to the creation of the Baumann Centre as a community hub for increased participation in opera. Previously, Ian was the Director of Production and Artistic Administration for Pacific Opera Victoria, the Director of Production at the Belfry Theatre and an Instructor of Lighting Design at the University of Victoria. His scenic and lighting designs for dance, opera and theatre have played at notable stages across Canada. His…

Read More

Tim Yakimec Secretary - Treasurer

Tim recalls seeing a touring show of Edmonton Opera when in junior high school in the 70’s in small town Alberta. Little did he know he would be in a leadership position with the company over 30 years later! The power of the human voice made an impact then and it still does now – hence, the ongoing association with the company. Then, in University, the connection was as a summer student developing lesson plans for the season of student dress rehearsals. Only a few years later, after completing his education degree majoring in music and art, and after teaching high school band, choral and art for a few years, he ventured back to MacEwan college to complete his diploma…

Read More

Cheryl Hickman Past - Chair

Cheryl Hickman is the General and Artistic Director of Opera on the Avalon (Newfoundland), a company she founded in 2009. She has been the Artistic Director since its inception and took on the role of General Director in 2014. She established OOTA’s Creation Investment Fund, which resulted in Atlantic Canada’s first grand opera commission, that helped OOTA to win numerous awards, including BMO/ Arts NL Artist of the year in 2017. Her tenure at OOTA has seen critical acclaim for her bold and challenging programming, particularly in terms of her approach to turning history into art as part of a dialogue about the relevance of opera in today’s society. OOTA’s commissions such as John Estacio and Robert Chafe’s Ours, Kathleen…

Read More

See More Board Members


Executive Director: Christina Loewen, christinal@opera.ca

General Manager: Joel Klein, j_klein@opera.ca

LINK Programs Associate: Jaclyn Grossman, jaclyn@opera.ca

Social Media Associate: Ryan McDonald, ryan@opera.ca

Our Supporters

The Association for Opera in Canada acknowledges and thanks all of its funders and supporters for their generosity and commitment.

Supporting Organizations

  • Government of Canada
  • Global Affairs Canada
  • Canada Council for the Arts
  • Ontario Arts Council
  • Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture & Sport


  • Domoney Artists Management
  • Opera de Montreal
  • Pacific Opera Victoria
  • Stingray Classica
  • Truck n Roll
  • Vancouver Opera

Supporting Foundations

  • Azrieli Foundation
  • RBC Future Launch

Individual Supporters—
$500 & Above

  • Mr. Richard Cook
  • Mr. Larry Desrochers
  • Ms Chantal Lambert
  • Ms Christina Loewen
  • Mr. Robert Milne
  • Mr. Ian Rye
  • Mr. Tim Yakimec
  • Mr. Bruce Munro Wright

Individual Supporters—
Up to $499

  • Mr. Dean Burry
  • Ms Kathy Domoney
  • Ms. Kim Gaynor
  • Highlands Opera Studio
  • Mr. Michael Mori
  • Mr. Michael Morres
  • Mr. Robert Vineburg
  • Ms Cheryl Hickman
  • Mr. Tom Wright
  • Ms Rosemary Thompson
  • Anonymous